Past MNWC Faculty

Our Distinguished Visiting Writers have included the major American poets Mark Doty, Joy Harjo, Terrance Hayes, Edward Hirsch, Sharon Olds, Tracy K. Smith, Natasha Trethewey, and Kevin Young and novelists Ron Carlson, Pam Houston, and Bret Lott and essayist Robin Wall Kimmerer.

Our teaching faculty has included NEA fellows and winners of major awards including the National Book Award. They are not only well-published, well-respected, award-winning writers, they are also excellent teachers, most of whom hold professorships and have been recognized for their skill in the classroom.

It is this passion for teaching and writing that builds an enthusiastic learning community, and we hear from participants that they’ve kept in touch with faculty and fellow participants years after attending this conference.

Ross Gay
Keetje Kuipers
Aimee Nezhukumatathil
Lia Purpura
Will Weaver
Diane Wilson

Heid E. Erdrich – Northwoods Visiting Writer
Sun Yung Shin – Northwoods Visiting Writer

Kimberly Blaeser
Douglas Kearney
Aimee Nezhukumatathil (Unable to Attend)
Benjamin Percy
Joni Tevis

Claudia Rankine – Distinguished Visiting Writer (Virtual)
David Treuer – Distinguished Visiting Writer (Virtual)

Kaveh Akbar (Virtual Visiting Writer)
Elizabeth Bradfield (Virtual Visiting Writer)
Ross Gay (Virtual Visiting Writer)
Keetje Kuipers (Virtual Visiting Writer)

Faith Adiele
Danielle Evans
Jennifer Elise Foerster
Drew Lanham
John Murillo

Nikky Finney – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Elizabeth Bradfield
Alison Hawthorne Deming
Scott Russell Sanders
Brenda Shaughnessy
Meera Subramanian

Robin Wall Kimmerer – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Camille Dungy
Ada Limón
Aimee Nezhukumatathil
Dustin Parsons
Peter Orner

Terrance Hayes – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Alison Hawthorne Deming
Mat Johnson
Joan Naviyuk Kane
Wayne Miller
Paisley Rekdal

Edward Hirsch – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Elizabeth Bradfield
Janice Harrington
Ravi Howard
Ander Monson

Tracy K. Smith – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Jericho Brown
Rebecca Brown
Natalie Diaz
LeeAnne Howe
Lorraine Lopez

Joy Harjo – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Matt de la Peña
David Gessner
Mat Johnson
Aimee Nezhukumatathil
Joni Tevis

Mark Doty – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Rebecca Brown
Camille Dungy
Sheri Joseph
Aimee Nezhukumatathil
Judson Mitchum

Pam Houston– Distinguished Visiting Writer

Geoffrey Brock
Jericho Brown
Camille Dungy
Danielle Evans
Joni Tevis

Ron Carlson – Distinguished Visiting Writer


Terrance Hayes
Judith Kitchen
Donna Masini
Judson Mitcham
Tina Parke-Sutherland

Natasha Trethewey – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Steve Almond
Ann Copeland
David Jauss
Tina Parke-Sutherland
Tim Seibles

Bret Lott – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Judy Blunt
Robin Hemley
David Jauss
Paisley Rekdal
Tina Parke-Sutherland

Sharon Olds – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Rikki Ducornet
Sue Silverman
Nancy Willard
Wayne Johnson
Tina Parke-Sutherland

Kevin Young – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Derick Burleson
Robin Hemley
Ann Copeland
Rich Wallace
Tina Parke-Sutherland

Judith Ortiz Cofer – Distinguished Visiting Writer

Dan O’Brien
Ann Copeland
Tina Parke-Sutherland

Jay Parini – Distinguished Visiting Writer